Former ITWA president Richard Evans elected to International Tennis Hall of Fame

Richard Evans, a founding member of ITWA and its president from 2001-04, will be inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2024.

Evans, a writer and broadcaster who began covering Grand Slam tennis more than 60 years ago, is the third ITWA member to join the Hall, alongside Gianni Clerici (Class of 2006) and Steve Flink (Class of 2017). (Bud Collins also is in the Hall, but his selection in 1994 came before ITWA’s founding in 2000).

Evans will be inducted during a ceremony in Newport, Rhode Island, on July 20. He was chosen in the Contributor Category by a voting panel that includes Hall of Fame members, media, historians, industry experts and fans.

“Richard’s selection reflects his key role in the sport’s history – and that of tennis writers as a group,” ITWA co-presidents Howard Fendrich and Simon Cambers said.

Evans, who was born in Paris to British parents and has lived most of his adult life in Monaco and the United States, has reported from more than 200 Grand Slam tournaments, starting with Wimbledon in 1960 and Roland-Garros in 1961.

He wrote about his career in “The Roving Eye,” a book published in 2017.

As well as writing and broadcasting about tennis, he had two stints working for the ATP’s European office, and has been active in inner-city grassroots tennis initiatives.

Leander Paes and Vijay Amritraj are the other members of the Hall’s Class of 2024.