Bud Collins Award Goes to Wimbledon’s Denise Tyler

Denise Tyler, the Press Operations Manager at Wimbledon, is the winner of the International Tennis Writers Association’s 2016 Bud Collins Award. The result of a poll of ITWA’s 120-plus members was announced at ITWA’s annual Cocktail and Canapes Party at the Yale Club of New York on the eve of the US Open. The party was sponsored by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the Women’s Tennis Association.

The Bud Collins Award is presented annually to people in tennis who have been particularly helpful to the media. Bud Collins, who died earlier this year, was one of the most prominent figures in the tennis media and was a long-time member of ITWA. READ MORE

New, Redesigned ITWA Website!

Welcome to the new, redesigned ITWA website.

Because of the unveiling of the website has affected our usual timeline, payment of the 2017 dues, the deadline to pay your 2017 dues has been changed to August 31.

All present ITWA members will receive an email with a new login and password. Then, please use the new login and password to login, giving you access to Pay Dues page, along with other members-only pages. The login box is at the lower right-hand corner of this page.

Please send any questions or input about the website to your webmaster, Ron Cioffi, cioffiron@gmail.com, or to our ITWA leadership on our Board page.


murrayambassadoraward2015 muguruzaambassadoraward2015
Andy Murray receives his award from the International Tennis Writers Association’s Simon Cambers (left) and Paul Newman. Garbine Muguruza receives her award from the International Tennis Writers Association’s Chris Bowers (left) and Paul Newman.

Murray, Muguruza Honoured as 2015 Ambassadors of the Year

Melbourne, 16 January 2016 – Andy Murray and Garbine Muguruza have won the International Tennis Writers Association’s top awards. The 28-year-old Scot and the 22-year-old Spaniard were voted ITWA’s Ambassadors of the Year for 2015. It is the second time Murray has won the award and the first time it has gone to Muguruza.

ITWA represents more than 120 of the world’s leading tennis journalists. Its awards recognise a combination of achievements on the court, conduct that shows tennis in the best possible light and co-operation with the media.

Both Murray and Muguruza had memorable years. Murray, who also won the award in 2012, had the most consistent year of his career, finishing at No 2 in the world rankings for the first time. He also played the key role in Britain’s Davis Cup triumph, winning all eight of his singles rubbers during the year and three doubles rubbers alongside his brother Jamie. READ MORE



Skip to toolbar