WTA’s Courtney Nguyen wins 2019 Bud Collins Award

New York (1 September 2019) – Courtney Nguyen was honoured at the International Tennis Writers’ Association’s annual cocktail party in New York.

Nguyen, who started working for the WTA in 2015, received ITWA’s annual Bud Collins Award, which is given to people within the tennis business who have been particularly helpful to the media. The award is decided by a vote of ITWA’s 120-plus members.

A former lawyer, Nguyen began her career in tennis blogging, before being spotted by Sports Illustrated to run their new Beyond the Baseline tennis blog. In the summer of 2015, she was hired as a Senior Writer at the WTA and has made her WTA Insider role into an invaluable tool for all tennis writers and broadcasters in the tennis world.

The Yale Club of New York again hosted the party, which was attended by a wide range of people involved in tennis, including former players, communications staff and tour and tournament officials.

The evening was sponsored by the International Tennis Hall of Fame, the Association of Tennis Professionals and the Women’s Tennis Association.

Chris Kermode, the ATP’s Executive Chairman and President, Steve Simon, the CEO of the WTA, and Todd Martin, the Hall of Fame’s CEO, were among those who attended the party.

Nicola Arzani (centre) with ITWA’s Alix
Ramsay and Paul Newman after receiving
the Bud Collins Award.
The party was held at the Yale Club of New York.
Steve Flink and Todd MartinSteve Flink and guests
Todd Martin (right), CEO of the International
Tennis Hall of Fame, presents Steve Flink
with his Hall of Fame ring.
Steve Flink with his guests at the party.
Chris Kermode (right), the ATP’s Executive
Chairman and President, with Paul Newman,
the Co-President of ITWA.
Steve Simon, the CEO of the Women’s Tennis Association, addresses the party.
International Tennis Writers Association party
International Tennis Writers Association party

Photographs: Jorick Jansens

Previous winners:

2018: Nicola Arzani (Senior Vice President PR and Marketing, Association of Tennis Professionals)
2017: Greg Sharko (Association of Tennis Professionals communications)
2016: Denise Tyler (Press Operations Manager at Wimbledon)
2015: ASAP Sports
2014: Nick Imison (International Tennis Federation communications)
2013: Mitzi Ingram Evans (International Tennis Federation communications)

Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.