Bud Collins Award Goes to Denise Tyler

FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_030_300x200 WTA_ITHOF_logos_300x200
With Denise Tyler unable to attend the
party, Nick Imison (left), a former winner
of the Bud Collins Award, received the 2016 award on her behalf from Paul Newman, the Co-President of ITWA.
The party was sponsored by the Women’s Tennis Association and the International Tennis Hall of Fame.
FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_024_300x200 FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_026_300x200
Steve Simon, CEO of the Women’s Tennis Association. Todd Martin, CEO of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.
Denise Tyler, the Press Operations Manager at Wimbledon, is the winner of the International Tennis Writers Association’s 2016 Bud Collins Award. The result of a poll of ITWA’s 120-plus members was announced at ITWA’s annual Cocktail and Canapes Party at the Yale Club of New York on the eve of the US Open. The party was sponsored by the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the Women’s Tennis Association.
The Bud Collins Award is presented annually to people in tennis who have been particularly helpful to the media. Bud Collins, who died earlier this year, was one of the most prominent figures in the tennis media and was a long-time member of ITWA.
Paul Newman, the co-President of ITWA, said in announcing the award: “We all know how frantic a Grand Slam tournament can be, but Denise runs the Wimbledon media centre with great calmness and authority. She is also very responsive to suggestions for improvements. ITWA has always had a great relationship with her.”
The party was attended by a wide range of people across the sport of tennis, including representatives from all the governing bodies. The International Tennis Hall of Fame was represented by, amongst others, Todd Martin, the Chief Executive Officer, and Doug Stark, the Museum Director. Steve Simon and Micky Lawler, the Chief Executive Officer and President respectively, were among those present from the Women’s Tennis Association.
Previous winners:

2015: ASAP Sports
2014: Nick Imison (International Tennis Federation communications)
2013: Mitzi Ingram Evans (International Tennis Federation communications)

FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_003_300x200 SM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_003_300x200
Left to right: Among those present from
the International Tennis Hall of Fame
were Mary Heath, Anne Marie
McLaughlin, Todd Martin and Dianne
Left to right: Malka Wickramatilake (Tennis Channel), Courtney Nguyen (WTA), Adam Lincoln (WTA), Catherine Sneddon (WTA) and Nick Imison (ITF).
FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_012_300x200 FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_023_300x200
Amy Binder (WTA), Prue Ryan (Tennis Australia), Richard Evans (ITWA) and
Harriet Rendle (Tennis Australia).
The party was held at the Yale Club of New York.
FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_011_300x200 FM_ITWA_PARTY_2016_006_300x200
Left to right: Rika Hiraki, who won the
French Open mixed doubles in 1997
and is now executive director of the Japanese tennis federation, with the ITWA members Kaoru Takeda, Naomi Yamguchi and Akatsuki Uchida
The party was sponsored by the Women’s Tennis Association and the International Tennis Hall of Fame.