Kerber, Murray Honoured as 2016 Ambassadors of the Year

14/1/2017 Andy Murray presented with ITWA Trophy Picture Dave shopland ITWA2016ambassadorKerber
Andy Murray receives his award from the International Tennis Writers Association’s Prajwal Hegde (right) and Paul Newman. Photos: Dave Shopland Angelique Kerber receives her award from the International Tennis Writers Association’s Simon Cambers (left) and Paul Newman.

Melbourne, 15 January 2017 – Andy Murray and Angelique Kerber have won the International Tennis Writers Association’s top awards. The 29-year-old Scot and the 28-year-old German were voted ITWA’s Ambassadors of the Year for 2016. It is the third time Murray has won the award and the first time it has been won by Kerber.

ITWA represents more than 120 of the world’s leading tennis journalists. Its awards, which are voted for by the members, recognise a combination of achievements on the court, conduct that shows tennis in the best possible light and co-operation with the media.

Both Murray and Kerber had memorable years. Murray, who also won the award in 2012 and 2015, won nine titles, including Wimbledon, the Olympics and the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals, and finished the year as world No 1 for the first time.

Kerber won her first Grand Slam title at the Australian Open and added the US Open later in the year. She was the WTA’s year-end world No 1 for the first time.

Paul Newman, co-president of ITWA, said: “Andy Murray and Angelique Kerber had excellent years in terms of their results, but they were also great ambassadors for their sport in the way that they conducted themselves on and off the court.

“They both understand that a good relationship with the media helps everyone. Andy has become an eloquent spokesman for tennis, while Angelique has handled the huge media interest in her over the last 12 months with grace and style.”

Both players were presented with their awards here ahead of the start of the Australian Open on Monday.